GPS & ipad

For all your general tech help

GPS & ipad

Postby shakey55 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:06 am

I'm thinking of buying an ipad to use as GPS and mapping. Can anyone tell me if they do the same and does GPS work when out of range of networks


'shakey'
shakey55
fire trailer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 5:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Postby nig » Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:20 pm

I dont use an iPad for GPS, but I know a few people who do and it works just fine. However you have to use an app that installs the maps on your device if you want it to work out of network range - something like Mudmaps
Image

09 Isuzu D-Max dualcab traytop
User avatar
nig
 
Posts: 3601
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 7:42 am
Location: Shannons Flat, NSW

Postby Toy Pradopetty » Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:16 pm

Hi Shakey.
One thing to remember about the iPad. You need to get the 3G IPad not the one with WIFI only. The 3G model has the chipset that also incorperates the GPS so there is no need for reception when bush for it to work. I have the ipad 2 3G version 64 gig and it is perfect. I'm running HEMA App (4wd Australia ) and got some extra maps. There is also the MUDMAPS HD version ( the old vms app) but I find it too limited in what you are allowed to do. Hope this helps a little. By the way I also use a ram mount in the car so it stays in view whilst on the move.
Cheers
Frank
RIP Nonna Anna Maria
User avatar
Toy Pradopetty
 
Posts: 9912845
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 9:14 pm
Location: Corrimal, Wollongong


Return to General Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron